• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

How to design a City?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hi,

Well, I'm new to the Hive Workshop, so I'll, first of all, introduce my self a little bit. The reason why I'm here is, that I decided to make a RPG in Warcraft together with some friends. And now I have to design a terrain for the map, it is my first terraining project and the tutorials and threads in this forum were very helpful, I'm nearly done with the landscape itself, but know I've to face serious trouble, because I can't create any good looking cities, no matter how hard I try, they all end up looking too symetrical or not symetrical enough. I hope you can help me with this one!

To show you what I mean I've taken a screenshot of my latest try, it's not really finished, but you can already tell, that it's going to suck hard.

picture.php

Thank you already, and another quick question I had to face: Are there any invisible borders units/heros can't pass? I would have to use those for example on the shore of my river.

Level 24
In Doodads go to Pathing Blockers, and then use Pathing Blockers (Ground). They are invisible in game and units can't go past them. Then you can use Pathing Blocker (Air) for air units and Pathing Blocker (Both) for air and ground units.

One thing you should try in your city is adding some variation in the buildings, as they are the same with just 2 different colours, and then the Tavern. You should maybe try adding a Cathedral and a Town Square in the center of the town. Also remember that you can create a custom doodad, and set the model to a building, so you can use Wc3 buildings as doodads in your city.

Level 1